PetTravelPass

Bringing a dog or cat to Egypt

Paperwork is fairly simple for pets travelling with their owners: microchip, rabies vaccine at least 21 days old, and an official health certificate, with no titer test. The main risk is Egypt's 2023 dangerous-dog law, which restricts many large breeds.

Which rules apply to you

Egypt sorts arriving pets by where they travel from. Find your group, then follow its steps.

Arriving fromTiter testWait after samplePermitQuarantine
All countriesNo published origin categories.No—NoOnly if rules not met

Step by step

  1. Microchip, then vaccinate

    ISO microchip first, then rabies vaccine at least 21 days before travel. The chip number must match on all documents.

  2. Gather vaccination proof

    Bring a pet passport or vet record showing vaccination dates, vaccine name, manufacturer, batch number and expiry.

  3. Official health certificate

    Health certificate issued or endorsed by your government veterinary authority. UK guidance requires the clinical exam no more than 96 hours before export.

  4. Legalise documents if asked

    Some exporting countries' guidance (e.g. the UK) advises legalising the certificate for Egypt. Check with the Egyptian embassy.

  5. Check your dog's breed

    If your dog is a breed listed under Law 29/2023 (e.g. Pit Bull, Rottweiler, German Shepherd), confirm with GOVS before travelling whether it can enter and how to register it.

No quarantine for pets accompanying their owners. Commercial consignments from dealers face 15 days of quarantine.

Good to know

Cats
Same as dogs. No cat breed restrictions found.
Banned breeds
Pit Bull, Rottweiler, German Shepherd, Siberian Husky, Caucasian Shepherd, Bullmastiff, Doberman, Alaskan Malamute, Great Dane, Akita, American Bully, Alpine Mastiff, Dogo Argentino, Cane Corso, Tosa Inu
How many pets
Not specified.
Parasite treatment
None found.
Arrival
Not specified; veterinary inspection at the port of arrival.
  • Law No. 29 of 2023 on the possession of dangerous animals and dogs (in force June 2023) requires licensing of listed breeds and bars them from public spaces.

What we could not confirm

  • No GOVS web page on pet import requirements could be found or read. The rules come from Australian and UK government export guidance.
  • The dog breed list comes from press reports of Law 29/2023 tables. It is unclear whether the law bans importing these breeds or only requires licensing them after arrival.
  • No official health certificate validity window, minimum age or pet limit was found. The 21-day vaccine rule comes from Australian guidance covering cats; it is assumed to apply to dogs too.

Sources

Checked against official sources on 2026-10-28. Rules change: confirm with General Organization for Veterinary Services (GOVS), Ministry of Agriculture and Land Reclamation before booking.