PetTravelPass

Bringing a dog or cat to Hong Kong

Every dog and cat needs an AFCD Special Permit and must arrive as manifested cargo. Pets from Group I and II places can skip quarantine if every condition is met. Group IIIA (including Mainland China, Macao, Malaysia and Thailand) does 30 days of quarantine after a titer test. Everyone else (Group IIIB) does at least 120 days.

Which rules apply to you

Hong Kong sorts arriving pets by where they travel from. Find your group, then follow its steps.

Arriving fromTiter testWait after samplePermitQuarantine
Group I (rabies-free)Pets imported directly from Australia, Fiji, Hawaii, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, the UK or Jersey. Hawaii has no ISO2 code, so it is not in the list.No—YesOnly if rules not met
Group II (rabies under effective control)Pets exported from a Group II place, including the continental USA, Canada, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan and many EU countries. AFCD lists just 'Virgin Islands', so both VG and VI are included. The pet must have lived there for at least 180 days or since birth.No—YesOnly if rules not met
Group IIIAPets exported from Mainland China (since 3 June 2025), Hungary, Lithuania, Macao, Malaysia or ThailandYes3 monthsYes30+ days
Group IIIB (all other places)Any country or place not in Group I, II or IIIA (for example India, the Philippines, Indonesia, Vietnam and the UAE, and several EU members such as Poland, Romania and Greece)No—Yes120+ days

Step by step

  1. Microchip the pet

    Use an ISO or AVID chip. Dogs 5 months or older may be re-chipped on arrival if the chip doesn't match Hong Kong's format.

  2. Get an AFCD Special Permit

    Apply with forms AF240 and UN110 (fee HK$432, plus HK$102 per extra animal). Allow at least 5 working days. The permit is valid 6 months for one shipment.

  3. Health certificate

    Get the VC-DC1 animal health certificate from a government vet (or a vet with government endorsement) within 14 days of export. It confirms residency and health.

  4. Fly as manifested cargo

    Take the most direct route as manifested cargo; cabin and excess baggage are not allowed. The captain completes the airline certificate (PC101).

  5. Notify AFCD and get a dog licence

    Notify the AFCD duty officer at least 24 hours before arrival. Dogs 5 months or older must be rabies-vaccinated and licensed after arrival.

Normally exempt if all permit conditions are met. Pets without proper documents face at least 4 months' quarantine or are sent back.

Good to know

Cats
Same groups and steps as dogs. Cats need panleukopenia and cat-flu vaccines instead of the dog core vaccines. The rule that dogs 5 months or older must be rabies-vaccinated and licensed on arrival applies only to dogs. Bengal cats must be documented as 5th generation or later.
Banned breeds
Pit Bull Terrier (American Staffordshire Terrier), Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, Fila Brasileiro, Crosses of the above, Staffordshire Bull Terrier needs a statutory declaration (not banned), Bengal cats earlier than 5th generation
How many pets
Not specified (one permit can cover several animals in one shipment)
Parasite treatment
Not specified on the pages checked
Arrival
Hong Kong International Airport, as manifested cargo only (no cabin or excess baggage, except approved assistance dogs). AFCD airport offices at the cargo terminals operate 24 hours.
  • Animals under 5 months old or more than 4 weeks pregnant cannot be imported (Group II permit terms).
  • Disability assistance dogs are exempt from quarantine and the 6-month residency rule with one rabies titer test at least 6 months before entry. This does not apply to emotional support animals.
  • Pets leaving Hong Kong need a new permit to return.

What we could not confirm

  • The Group I permit terms (DC-01) could not be fetched. Group I residency, age and certificate timing are assumed to match the Group II terms, minus the rabies vaccine.
  • The Group II terms read were version v04 (Dec 2020); AFCD now links v05. Details may have changed.
  • The Group IIIB vaccine rule (G122) was not read in detail, so vaccineDosesRequired = 1 is an assumption.
  • AFCD lists just 'Virgin Islands' in Group II, so it's unclear whether that means the British or US Virgin Islands; both are included.
  • The pages checked give no parasite treatment requirement.
  • AFCD lists 'Virgin Islands' in Group II without saying whether it means the British or US Virgin Islands, so neither is matched automatically.

Sources

Checked against official sources on 2026-10-28. Rules change: confirm with Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) before booking.