Bringing a dog or cat to Qatar
An import permit from the Ministry of Municipality (valid about one month) and a rabies titer result are needed for all cats and dogs. Qatar keeps a long list of restricted large and bull-type dog breeds.
Which rules apply to you
Qatar sorts arriving pets by where they travel from. Find your group, then follow its steps.
| Arriving from | Titer test | Wait after sample | Permit | Quarantine |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All countriesNo published origin categories; the same rules apply to all countries. | Yes | — | Yes | Only if rules not met |
Step by step
Microchip and vaccinate
ISO microchip, then rabies vaccine at least 30 days before travel. Dogs also need distemper, hepatitis, parvovirus and leptospirosis; cats need the core feline vaccines.
Rabies titer test
Blood test (FAVN/RFFIT) at an accredited lab showing at least 0.5 IU/ml, sampled no more than 12 months before shipment.
Apply for the import permit
Apply to the Ministry of Municipality (online service 'Permit to Import Cats and Dogs') with your ID and the vaccination and titer records. The permit is valid about one month.
Restricted breeds: get a Ministry of Interior permit
Large or dangerous dog breeds need a special permit from the Ministry of Interior, and some breeds are refused.
Official health certificate
Original official veterinary health certificate from your country's veterinary authority accompanying the pet. Pets fly as checked baggage or cargo into Hamad International Airport.
Documented pets are held at the Hamad Airport animal facility only until cleared. Under Veterinary Quarantine Law No. 14 of 2003, pets that fail inspection can be quarantined (up to 6 months for dogs) or refused.
Good to know
- Cats
- Same permit and titer process. Cats need feline core vaccines; no breed restrictions.
- Banned breeds
- American Staffordshire Terrier, Boerboel, Boston Terrier, Boxer, Bull Terrier, Bulldog, Chinese Shar-Pei, Doberman, Great Dane, Japanese Akita, Neapolitan Mastiff, Afghan Hound, Rottweiler, Staffordshire Bull Terrier
- How many pets
- Not specified.
- Parasite treatment
- Not specified.
- Arrival
- Hamad International Airport; pets arrive as checked baggage (excess baggage) or cargo, not in cabin (except eligible service dogs).
- Hamad Airport holds arriving pets in a dedicated facility until customs and veterinary clearance; same-day release is not guaranteed.
What we could not confirm
- No page from the Qatar Ministry of Municipality could be read. Rules come from Australian and UK government export notes and Qatari media.
- Minimum age: older sources say 4 months; a 2026 article says the visitor-permit service requires over 7 months. Confirm before booking.
- Reported 90-day wait after the titer sample (visitor route) is unconfirmed.
- The banned or restricted breed list comes from Qatari media citing a government list; it reportedly differs from the list on the Hukoomi portal. Whether these breeds are banned outright or need a Ministry of Interior permit is unclear.
- Health certificate validity window and pet number limit were not found.
Sources
- Australia DAFF MICoR - Qatar dogs (government, secondary; 2019 permit conditions)
- UK APHA - Notes for guidance 3920, dogs and cats to Qatar, revised 30 Oct 2023 (government, secondary)
- Qatar Living - Bringing your pet to Qatar, Aug 2026 (non-government, secondary)
- The Peninsula Qatar handbook - Pets (non-government, secondary)
Checked against official sources on 2026-10-28. Rules change: confirm with Ministry of Municipality - Animal Resources Department before booking.